Search
Close this search box.

Toby 2

Name: Toby (2)

Ref No:  31001543

Location: Edinburgh area

Breed: Springer Spaniel, black & white

Age: 6 years

Gender: Male, neutered

Good with Children: Yes, older

Good with Dogs: Yes

Good with Cats: No 

Good with Livestock: Untested

Status: Reserved

Hi! My name is Toby, and I’m a very handsome, energetic boy. I’m very friendly and affectionate, love attention and would happily have you make a fuss of me all day and play with my toys.

If you like a very tidy house, then I’m the boy for you! I am likely to steal just about anything that’s lying around, just for attention and good luck getting it off me. Tea towels, socks, remotes  – you name it, I’ll give it a go if you don’t keep an eye on me! I like to chew up my toys but I’m not known to chew furniture. I will need some training in this area to help with my indoor manners. I think once I am settled in a good routine with lots of interesting walks and something to keep my brain working, I will be much better and happily snuggle on the sofa.

I get three generous walks per day which has gradually been increasing. I walk well on the lead next to my foster parents with a Halti, I may pull a little in different directions to find all the new smells or when I’m super excited for a walk. . My recall has never been worked on so I will need some help with that. I love beach and forest walks but I’m not a fan of swimming and would like to explore them off-lead some day. I’m very gentle with other dogs I meet and happy to say hello.

I’m not motivated by food, I’ll take a treat and eat my food in my own time.

 I’m not used to being left alone, my foster parents have been easing me into spending time alone in a room, where if I’ve been a good walk, I will settle on my own. I will need patience to work on spending time on my own and need an owner who is able to stay around me initially.

 I’m quite happy to settle down beside you and have cuddles, I’m quite placid, and I take treats gently. I sleep as close to my foster parents as possible, I like to be cosy under the covers in their bed, I’m not so keen on sleeping in the crate of dog bed. I’m not an early riser, I’ll get up when my foster parents get up.

I travel well in the car, in a crate in the back.

I am used to being groomed regularly, and am fine with being brushed, dried, and examined by the vet.

Note: Toby is looking for an active home, with someone around most of the time. A rural or semi-rural location or near a coastal area would be ideal. A large garden or an enclosed area to work on recall would be good. He will need someone who can continue his training, especially working on his recall and his attention-seeking stealing. Behavioural training support is available.

He is fine with other dogs and would be fine with older children if they’re used to dogs.  

If you have been home-checked or approved by email then please email edinburgh@springerrescuescotland.org  with your name and postcode. If you haven’t applied yet but think I’m your perfect companion, please complete an application on the website and email edinburgh@springerrescuescotland.org   letting them know you have just submitted an application, giving your name and postcode.

Please ONLY contact us if you fit the required criteria.