Search
Close this search box.

Mac

Name: Mac
Ref No:  8001478

Location: Scottish Borders

Breed: Cocker Spaniel, Golden

Age: 4 years
Gender: Male, neutered
Good with Children: No, not used to children

Good with Dogs: No, best as an only dog

Good with Cats: No, will chase
Good with Livestock: No

Status: Available

Hello, I’m Mac! I’m a 4 year old Golden Cocker Spaniel and I’m a very handsome boy. In the main, I’m a lovely boy and will make a great companion.

I’m generally a very happy, friendly boy but I do have some issues, especially when I’m tired. I’ve been rehomed a couple of times, but it hasn’t worked out so I’m looking for someone very experienced with Cockers, who can work with me and manage my occasional grumpiness.

One of my issues is that I’m a counter surfer and bit of a resource guarder, I am better excluded from food preparation areas and during human mealtimes, and definitely no titbits from the table.

My sit is very good, stay is not bad, but my come and no and down require work, along with my recall which is not the best, so it would be great if you would continue with my training. I’m not really a cuddly boy however I love to get my belly, ears and under my chin rubbed and scratched. All on my own terms of course! When I’m tired I can get grumpy and am best left in peace.

I eat kibble twice a day which I enjoy, and I get treats if I’m good. I like carrots, broccoli stocks and pear, I’ve tried apple, banana and green beans and don’t like them. I also like scrambled eggs and toast. I am a bit obsessed with tennis balls which I like to strip. Soft toys I will also shred into bits. You will definitely have to keep socks well out my reach as I tend to eat them.

I have been getting plenty of interesting walks on either a lead or long line. I can be a bit reactive with some other dogs especially if they’re larger than me and I make my feelings known.  I have visited the dog park and enjoyed the freedom to run. I love to sit and watch the world go by with an open door to allow me plenty of access to the garden.

I will chase birds of all kinds, and love to hunt for squirrels and rabbits, and my recall gets a bit patchy when I’m concentrating on the chase. I have seen cows and wasn’t bothered by them but I’m best kept away from sheep.

I really don’t know any children, and I am very wary of meeting them outside, I am not too keen on people coming up to me that I don’t know. It takes me a wee while to get used to visitors.  

I travel well in the car either back seat with a restraint or in the back secured with a lead.

I like to have an allocated quiet safe area in my new home where I can go when tired or grumpy.

My ideal new forever home would be somewhere quiet with a large garden with easy access as I really enjoy being outside, especially sun puddling. No children, or other dogs and no cats. I would like someone around most of the time. My new owner/s must be very experienced with my breed, be familiar with doggy body language and managing behaviours, and be prepared to continue my training and socialisation.

If you have been home-checked or approved by email then please email enquiries@springerrescuescotland.org with your name and postcode.

If you haven’t applied yet but think I’m your perfect companion, please complete an application on the website and email enquiries@springerrescuescotland.org letting them know you have just submitted an application, giving your name and postcode.

Please ONLY contact us if you fit the required criteria.

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

Add Your Heading Text Here