Search
Close this search box.

Finn

Add Your Heading Text Here

Name: Finn

Ref No:  28001529

Location: Angus area

Breed: Springer spaniel, liver & white

Age: 5

Gender: Male, neutered

Good with Children: Yes, older

Good with Dogs: Yes, previously lived with 2 female dogs, currently in foster with other dogs.

Good with Cats: Untested, will probably chase
Good with Livestock: will chase

Status: Available


“Hello, my name is Finn (but I do have a posh, long name too) and I am a lovely 5 year old English Springer spaniel, mostly liver with a bit of white.


I am told I am very affectionate and gentle and although quite exuberant I do spend a lot of time relaxed. My foster parents already have 2 English Springers and I get on well with them. They also have some elderly goats which I tried to chase at first and bark at, but I have stopped that and occasionally try to play with them but they are not interested.  I do like to chase birds and bark at them.


I am very well house trained, will eat almost anything and share furniture and beds with everyone else and sleep well all night. My foster parents have full length windows so I can see everything passing outside and get a bit excited and audible when tractors and big vehicles go past.  I am a bit attached to my foster dad and like being with him but happily potter about in the yard or garden when he is working, but do miss him when not with him.


Unfortunately, I missed out on some of my outdoor training as a youngster, and as a result am not great at recall, although I am improving with practice.  When I run about free in my foster parents’ fields I love doing my own thing but I will always come back to them (sometimes in my own time!).  I do not jump fences so I am quite safe in enclosed spaces.  I am not very good on a lead but I am sure a bit of serious training and patience and I will improve both at walking and at recall.

 

I love travelling in the car and bark a bit on short journeys, particularly when I know we are going for the long morning walk on the beach. I settle quite well on longer journeys.”


Finn has a lot of potential. We are looking for a rural or semi-rural home for Finn, and someone who has experience with Springers and can continue Finn’s general training. Finn is a lovely dog, but he does need some ongoing training. He also has a degree of separation anxiety, but this seems to be improving. He would like someone around most of the time, as he likes company. He would be fine with other dogs once introduced. 


Behavioural support will be available to help Finn settle in his new home.


If you have been home-checked or approved by email then please email angus@springerrescuescotland.org with your name and postcode. If you haven’t applied yet but think I’m your perfect companion, please complete an application on the website and email angus@springerrescuescotland.org  letting them know you have just submitted an application, giving your name and postcode.

Please ONLY contact us if you fit the required criteria.